Stupid Things That Mean The World (Ltd. 2CD Mediabook)

: Tim Bowness
: 2 CD
: 17.07.2015
16,99 €
incl. VAT excl. shipping costs

2015, a year on from the acclaimed “Abandoned Dancehall Dreams”, TIM BOWNESS returns with the powerful and eclectic “Stupid Things That Mean The World”. Produced by Bowness and mixed by The Pineapple Thief’s Bruce Soord (who also adds some choice guitar parts), the album features a core of Bowness along with members of the No-Man live band (Stephen Bennett, Michael Bearpark, Andrew Booker) and Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), augmented by contributions from Peter Hammill (Van der Graaf Generator), Phil Manzanera (Roxy Music), Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Anna Phoebe, David Rhodes (Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush, Scott Walker), and Rhys Marsh. As on “Abandoned Dancehall Dreams”, classical composer Andrew Keeling, best known for his work with The Hilliard Ensemble, Evelyn Glennie and Robert Fripp, provides striking string arrangements. The album was mastered by The Pineapple Thief’s Steve Kitch.

Developing the sound of “Abandoned Dancehall Dreams” further, on “Stupid Things That Mean The World”, Bowness distinctively operates on the edges of art rock and singer/songwriter styles, delivering a music which is both epic and intimate, familiar and surprising. From the heavy drum and guitar thud of opener “The Great Electric Teenage Dream” to the elegant chamber grace of “At The End Of The Holiday”, via the 'accidental Pop’ of the album’s title track, the experimental electro-rock of the stunning “Press Reset”, the poignant pedal steel ache of “Know That You Were Loved”, TIM BOWNESS guarantees an adventurous, mesmerizing sonic journey.

Titel Stupid Things That Mean The World (Ltd. 2CD Mediabook)
Tim Bowness
[2 CD]
InsideOut Music

CD 1
01. The Great Electric Teenage Dream (04:00)
02. Sing To Me (05:46)
03. Where You've Always Been (04:07)
04. Stupid Things That Mean The World (03:05)
05. Know That You Were Loved (06:44)
06. Press Reset (03:54)
07. All These Escapes (03:06)
08. Everything You're Not (03:40)
09. Everything But You (01:12)
10. Soft William (01:40)
11. At The End Of The Holiday (04:58)
CD 2
01. Stupid Things That Mean The World (Nick Magnus mix) (03:11)
02. Best Boy Electric (Sing To Me) (1994 No-Man demo, Steven Wilson mix) (01:58)
03. Know That You Were Loved (David Rhodes’ ‘electric version', Stephen Bennett mix) (06:29)
04. I Still Miss You (Stupid Things That Mean The World, UXB ‘Ambient' mix) (06:13)